SDMC: No entry into Sarawak for foreigners with travel history to seven African countries

Home quarantine is also not allowed.

KUCHING – Foreigners who’ve stepped foot into the seven African countries on Malaysia’s travel ban list in the last 14 days are not allowed to enter Sarawak temporarily, reported Malay Mail.

- Advertisements -

These countries include Botswana, Eswatini, Lesotho, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa and Zimbabwe.

- Advertisements -

Sarawak State Disaster Management Committee (SDMC) said in a statement yesterday (Nov 28) that the decision was made following the discovery of the B.1.1.529 strain.

It added that locals and permanent resident pass holders returning to Malaysia from such countries may enter Sarawak by filing an application through the EnterSarawak system.

- Advertisements -

They must undertake a 14-day mandatory quarantine at approved quarantine stations at the earliest stage of entry into Malaysia regardless of vaccination status. Home quarantine is also not allowed.

“Transit to other destinations is not allowed until the quarantine period is complete and they must have a negative RT-PCR Covid-19 test result on the 12th day before being released from quarantine.”

SDMC also reminded international travelers to report their travel history to airport authorities as failure to do so may result in legal action.

Cover image via thejapantimes and theScientist

Editor: Sarah Yeoh

We are hiring writers!
We are hiring writers!