Society Current Affairs

PM: M’sians to enjoy free RapidKL rides for one month in conjunction with Putrajaya MRT launch

The Putrajaya line will cover a total of 12 stations.

KUALA LUMPUR – Malaysians can look forward to enjoying free public transportation services under RapidKL in the Klang Valley for a month starting today (June 16), announced Prime Minister Datuk Seri Ismail Sabri Yaakob.

- Advertisements -

The free rides include MRT, LRT, BRT, Monorail and the RapidKL bus.

- Advertisements -
Photo via The Star

This comes after the first phase of the Putrajaya MRT was officially launched today and will begin operations at 3pm.

“I hope every city folk will take this opportunity to try public transport. Leave your vehicles at Park N Ride,” said Sabri.

- Advertisements -

He added that the launch was also part of the government’s pledge to provide public amenities for Malaysians.

The government will ensure that no one is left out from the fruits of the nation’s development,” he said.

A total of 12 stations will be covered by the first phase of the Putrajaya line, namely Kwasa Damansara, Kampung Selamat, Sungai Buloh, Damansara Damai, Sri Damansara Barat, Sri Damansara Sentral, Sri Damansara Timur, Metro Prima, Kepong Baru, Jinjang, Sri Delima, and Kampung Batu.

It is also capable of transporting 1,200 passengers on each trip during peak hours and is schedules to arrive every four minutes.

Read also:

Weirdkaya is on twitter!
For more stories like this, follow WeirdKaya on Facebook, Twitter or Instagram!

Cover image via The Star and FMT

We are hiring writers!
We are hiring writers!